Something New

I broke out of the box today and made this:It’s a wall hanging and I’m not sure if it is done yet… I’ll look at it again tomorrow and think on it then.

I knew I wanted to do a patchwork style background. I used fabrics to represent the ground, green grass, the sky, etc. I then attached an embroidery hoop to give it some “depth”. I knew I wanted a tree and bird theme but did not want to embroider the tree so I found a stick that looked pretty tree like to me, and attached it with some thread. I embroidered the spring leaves and the blue birds and viola – a wall hanging inspired by nature.

Singer and Craft Magazine are hosting a contest and if I still like this tomorrow, it will probably be my entry. It was fun to do something different for a change – perhaps I do this more often.

8 thoughts on “Something New

  1. Punkinhead says:

    This is so great!!! Is there anything you can’t do??? You should make a few and put them on Etsy and see what happens.

  2. idyll hands says:

    I can’t cook rice very well. So yes, there is something I can’t do.

  3. dogwood says:

    That’s beautiful! It always feels good to do something a little different now and then… keeps the creativity flowing.

  4. Michelle says:

    That’s pretty cool! I like it. Alot!

  5. christina says:

    you are a crafting goddess!!! I LOVE this!

  6. Ooooooooooooo. YES! I love, love, love the way you incorporated the twig. Brilliant! *running to my studio to copy you shamelessly*

  7. idyll hands says:

    Denise – I’ll let you, and only you, copy 🙂

  8. casserole says:

    Genius!!! Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

Blog2016 - Hey Porkchop!

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

a tiny rocket

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Dress This Nest

Using what I know about fashion, to wardrobe my home

Southern Bite

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Magnolia Market

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

ashleyannphotography.com

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Poppytalk

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

whichgoose.

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

(Inside A Black Apple)

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

The Vanilla Bean Blog

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

The Tart Tart

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

The Pancake Princess

Clean eats and bakes with a side of pancakes.

molly yeh

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Local Milk Blog

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Flourishing Foodie

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Adventures in Cooking

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Create / Enjoy

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Run Daniella Run!

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Will Run for Pasta

living and loving -- and eating!! -- in the pacific northwest

Vintage Portland

A photo blog exploring Portland's past through historical images.

Life Made Lovely

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Amanda k. by the Bay

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

A Thousand Threads

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Making Nice in the Midwest

I'm just a thrifty gal who wears hats, makes crafts, and lives a creative life in Ohio

Oh Happy Day!

Just another WordPress.com site

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

natalie creates

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

the pretty little fiber co.

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

tend

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Everything and a Racehorse

I'm a boot cut girl in a skinny jeans world

Mindless Wanderings

Capturing the small moments in a full life

The Made Thing » Languages » English

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

And Now Ladies And Gentlemen

Thoughts and musings from a girl searching for the spotlight...

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Homesick Texan

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

sweetfineday

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Smile And Wave

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Posie Gets Cozy

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

Making it Lovely

A design blog about living a stylish life and transforming the so-so.

Junque Rethunque

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL

A Beautiful Mess

SIMPLY STATED : NEVER DULL